Blog News

NEWS! 1988 Adelaide Grand Prix winner voted fans’ favourite F1 car

Autosport readers have voted McLaren’s all-conquering MP4/4 from 1988 as their favourite Formula 1 car of all-time.

The British publication pitted 148 cars against one another in a World Cup-style knockout competition, with fans asked to vote for their favourite grand prix cars.

The MP4/4 faced off against the 1992 Williams FW14B, the 1991 Jordan 191 and the 2005 McLaren MP4-20 in the final, winning with a vote of 35 per cent compared to 27 per cent for the Williams and 20 per cent for the Jordan, the other Adelaide Grand Prix-era cars in the final.

The MP4/4, designed by Steve Nichols and Gordon Murray, dominated the 1988 Formula 1 season with 15 wins from 16 races between drivers Ayrton Senna and Alain Prost.

The car’s only defeat of the season came at the Italian Grand Prix at Monza, where an engine failure for Prost and collision with a backmarker for Senna handed Ferrari an emotional one-two on home soil just weeks after the passing founder Enzo Ferrari.

Senna, in his first season with the team, wrapped up the championship with victory at the Japanese Grand Prix in Suzuka, despite a slow start leaving him well down the field relative to Prost.

McLaren headed to Adelaide with both the drivers’ and constructors’ championships wrapped up, though there was no relenting for the team in what was the final race of the turbocharged era.

McLaren secured its 12th one-two in qualifying, Senna a record 13th pole position, Prost his seventh win and the team’s 10th one-two finish over the course of the season.


%d bloggers like this: