Blog News

EVENT GUIDE! 2017 Adelaide Motorsport Festival

Formula 1 cars return to the streets of Adelaide for the fourth running of the Adelaide Motorsport Festival from December 7 to 10.

Three Adelaide Grand Prix-era cars debut at the event, the 1988 Lola Larrousse LC88, 1989 Dallara BMS F189 and 1994 Footwork FA15, joining a field of Formula 1 cars that includes Alan Jones’ championship-winning 1980 Williams FW07B and the famed 1986 Benetton B186.

Supercars race winners Craig Lowndes, John Bowe, Cameron Waters and Tim Slade are amongst the drivers of the Formula 1 cars, which will take part in the Gouger Street Party on the evening of Friday the 8th of December before various runs at Victoria Park across Saturday and Sunday the 9th and 10th of December.

The Footwork FA15 will also go up against a Toyota WTF86, fitted with a twin-turbo Nissan GTR engine, in a roll race, a form of drag race that begins with the two cars driving side by side at low speed before being flagged to start.

The nine Formula 1 cars at the festival are:

  • 1970 March 701 (ex Mario Andretti) – driven by Gerry Duyvestyn.
  • 1974 March 741  (ex Hans-Joachim Stuck) – driven by John Bowe/Joe Calleja.
  • 1979 Candy Tyrrell 009/3 (ex Derek Daly) – driven by Richard Lihou.
  • 1980 Williams FW07B (ex Alan Jones) – driven by Paul Faulkner.
  • 1986 Benetton B186 (ex Gerhard Berger) – driven by Cameron Waters/Craig Lowndes.
  • 1988 Lola Larrousse LC88 (ex Philippe Alliot) – driven by Brenton Griguol.
  • 1989 BMS Scuderia Italia Dallara F189 (ex Andrea de Cesaris) – driven by André Bezuidenhout.
  • 1994 Footwork FA15 (ex Christian Fittipaldi) – driven by Tim Slade.
  • 2000 Arrows A21 (ex Mark Webber/Jos Verstappen) – driven by Joshua Kean.

The Formula 1 cars will be in action at the following times:

Friday 8 December:

  • 5:45pm. Peak Hour of Power parade to Gouger Street.
  • 6:00pm. Gouger Street Party.

Saturday 9 December:

  • 11:35am. Formula 1 cars Victoria Park Sprint.
  • 3:25pm. Craig Lowndes in 1986 Benetton B186.
  • 4:05pm. Formula 1 cars Victoria Park Sprint.
  • 4:45pm. Formula 1 versus WTF86 roll race.

Sunday 10 December:

  • 11:35am. Formula 1 cars Victoria Park Sprint.
  • 4:20pm. Formula 1 cars Victoria Park Sprint.

Other highlights of the festival include:

  • Three-time World Superbike Champion and MotoGP race winner Troy Bayliss giving fans rides on a two-seater Ducati.
  • Ferrari 70-year celebrations including Craig Lowndes driving the V12 Spettacolo FXX at 3:40pm Sunday.
  • Garth Tander driving Supercars’ Super5000 prototype to the Gouger Street Party on Friday night and on-track at 12:05pm Saturday.
  • Classic rally cars, including a Renault A5 Turbo and Audi S1 Quattro, driven by Neal Bates and Frank Kelly at 12:15pm Sunday.
  • John Bowe in the 1990 Ford RS500 Sierra in a demonstration alongside Cameron Waters in a Tickford Mustang Bathurst ’77 Special at 2:05pm Sunday.
  • The 1985 Bathurst 1000-winning Jaguar XJ-S headlining the Heritage Touring Car category, running at 11:50am and 4:20pm Saturday and Sunday.
  • Final stage of the Adelaide Rally at Victoria Park at 5:30pm Saturday. The field includes Joe Ricciardo, father of Formula 1 winner Daniel Ricciardo, in a 1974 Porsche 911.

CLICK HERE to buy tickets to the 2017 Adelaide Motorsport Festival.

%d bloggers like this: