Blog Flashbacks

FLASHBACK! F1’s 500th grand prix celebrations in Adelaide in 1990

Adelaide had the honour of hosting the 500th Formula 1 world championship event in 1990, with race organisers marking the occasion with a number of celebrations.

Former world champions were invited to the event, headlined by five-time champion Juan-Manuel Fangio who drove the iconic Mercedes W196. He was joined by fellow champions Jack Brabham, Jackie Stewart, James Hunt, Denny Hulme and Alan Jones with Ayrton Senna, Nelson Piquet and Alain Prost competing in the race.

Prost boycotted the 500th-race celebrations, including the photo opportunity with the other world champions, in protest at the championship-deciding collision with Senna at the preceding Japanese Grand Prix.

Piquet went on to win the race, holding off future world champion and former teammate Nigel Mansell’s late-race charge.

Formula 1 milestone grands prix:

100th: 1961 German Grand Prix. Winner: Stirling Moss – Lotus-Climax
200th: 1971 Monaco Grand Prix. Winner: Jackie Stewart – Tyrrell-Ford
300th: 1978 South African Grand Prix. Winner: Ronnie Peterson – Lotus-Ford
400th: 1984 Austrian Grand Prix. Winner: Niki Lauda – McLaren-TAG Porsche
500th: 1990 Australia Grand Prix. Winner: Nelson Piquet – Benetton-Ford
600th: 1997 Argentinean Grand Prix. Winner: Jacques Villeneuve – Williams-Reanult
700th: 2003 Brazilian Grand Prix. Winner: Giancarlo Fisichella – Jordan-Ford
800th: 2008 Singapore Grand Prix. Winner: Fernando Alonso – Renault
900th: 2014 Bahrain Grand Prix. Winner: Lewis Hamilton – AMG Mercedes-Benz
1000th: 2019 Chinese Grand Prix. Winner: Lewis Hamilton – AMG Mercedes-Benz

%d bloggers like this: