Blog News

EVENT GUIDE! 2018 Adelaide Motorsport Festival

A host of Formula 1 cars from various eras headline the fifth running of the Adelaide Motorsport Festival from November 30 to December 2.

Eight Adelaide Grand Prix-era cars are set to feature at the event, including the famed 1986 Benetton B186 and Ivan Capelli returning to Adelaide to drive the 1989 Leyton House CG891.

The Formula 1 cars and other Adelaide Motorsport Festival entrants will take part in a parade from Victoria Park to Gouger Street on the evening of Friday the 30th of November before various runs at Victoria Park across Saturday and Sunday the 1st and 2nd of December.

The 14 Formula 1 cars at the festival are:

  • 1957 Lotus 12 (ex Graham Hill).
  • 1958 Cooper T51 (ex Jack Brabham).
  • 1959 Cooper Climax T51 – driven by Grant Perryman.
  • 1960 Cooper Climax T53 – driven by David Smoker.
  • 1970 March 7015/2 (ex Mario Andretti) – driven by Gerry Duyvestyn.
  • 1985 Toleman TG185 (ex Teo Fabi) – driven Grant Perryman.
  • 1986 Benetton B186 (ex Gerhard Berger) – driven by Cameron Waters.
  • 1987 Lola Larrousse LC87 (ex Yannick Dalmas) – driven by David Smoker.
  • 1988 Footwork Arrows A10 (ex Eddie Cheever) – driven by Ben Henson.
  • 1988 Lola Larrousse LC88 (ex Philippe Alliot) – driven by Brenton Griguol.
  • 1989 BMS Scuderia Italia Dallara F189 (ex Andrea de Cesaris) – driven by André Bezuidenhout.
  • 1989 Leyton House CG891 (ex Ivan Capelli) – driven by Ivan Capelli.
  • 1994 Footwork FA15 (ex Christian Fittipaldi) – driven by Joshua Kean.
  • 2000 Arrows A21 (ex Mark Webber/Jos Verstappen) – driven by Joshua Kean.

They will be in action at the following times:

Friday 30 November:

  • 5:45pm. Peak Hour of Power parade to Gouger Street.
  • 6:00pm. Gouger Street Party.

Saturday 1 December:

  • 11:35am. Formula 1 cars at Victoria Park.
  • 4:05pm. Formula 1 cars at Victoria Park.

Sunday 2 December:

  • 10:55am. Brabham heritage demonstration
  • 11:35am. Formula 1 cars at Victoria Park.
  • 12:00pm. Formula 1 and road cars versus plane demo.
  • 1:15pm. Formula 1 cars from the 1950s.
  • 2:05pm. Brabham BT62 versus Formula 1 cars.
  • 4:30pm. Formula 1 cars at Victoria Park.

CLICK HERE for the complete event schedule.

Other highlights of the festival include:

  • Seven-time Bathurst 1000 winner Craig Lowndes driving a LaFerrari.
  • British rally champion Alister McRae driving a 1993 World Rally Championship Subaru Impreza 555, headlining the rally legends field.
  • Brabham celebration, including David Brabham in the Brabham BT62 supercar and legendary Brabham open-wheelers.
  • Porsche 70-year celebrations, including the 1988 Joest Racing Blaupunkt 962 and 1989 Brun Motorsport Hydro Aluminium 962 Le Mans racers.
  • Multiple Bathurst 1000 winners Lowndes, Jim Richards and John Bowe on track together in a LaFerrari, Porsche 918 and McLaren P1 respectively.
  • The new S5000 formula car, powered by Ford’s quad-cam five-litre V8 Coyote engine with a Ligier chassis.
  • Red Bull Air Race pilot Matt Hall against Capelli in the Leyton House, Richards in a Porsche 911 and Brabham in the Brabham BT62 in a standing-start drag race.
  • American muscle-car shootout featuring the Dodge Challenger SRT Demon, Ford Mustang and Chevrolet Camaro ZL1.
  • Heritage touring cars, including Allan Moffat in his championship-winning 1983 Mazda RX7, in addition to several ex-V8 Supercars.
  • The Isle of Man TT-winning 1987 JPS Norton RC588, headlining the classic bikes field.

CLICK HERE to buy tickets to the 2018 Adelaide Motorsport Festival.

%d bloggers like this: