Blog Records

RECORDS! The Adelaide Grand Prix regulars

Just eight teams competed in all 11 Adelaide Grand Prix events from 1985 to 1995.

They were:

  • Arrows/Footwork
  • Ligier
  • McLaren
  • Minardi
  • Scuderia Ferrari
  • Toleman/Benetton
  • Tyrrell
  • Williams

The eight teams all appear in the top 10 of most championship points scored at the Adelaide Grand Prix, with Lotus and Jordan also on the list.

CLICK HERE for the top 10 point scorers at the Adelaide Grand Prix.

Williams scored the most points in Adelaide, failing to record a points-scoring finish just twice in 1987 and 1992. McLaren and Scuderia Ferrari were next best, missing out on points in three events each.

McLaren, Scuderia Ferrari, Benetton and Williams all won a race at the Adelaide Grand Prix; Footwork and Ligier scored podiums; and Tyrrell and Minardi with bests of fourth and sixth respectively.

Arrows was rebranded as Footwork from 1991 to 1996, while Benetton took over from Toleman at the end of 1985.

Gerhard Berger was the only driver to compete in all 11 Adelaide Grand Prix events, for Arrows, Benetton, Scuderia Ferrari and McLaren.

%d bloggers like this: